YF certificate changes proposed for Kenya

The East African Community Secretariat is considering re-introducing a policy which would require East Africans to show proof of yellow fever vaccination when crossing into Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi or Sudan, or be denied entry. This measure is partly due to ‘the recent increase in outbreaks in the region’; two yellow fever infections were reported from separate districts in Uganda (Koboko and Masaka) in early May. The policy would dictate that the vaccination certificate must show the date of validity to be at least 10 days before travel. According to the news article, ‘Travellers with an exemption certificate due to medical reasons will be allowed entry, but will be placed under quarantine and/or will be required to report any fever or other symptoms to health authorities.’ Read more.

Affected Regions


Affected Countries