Yellow fever and monkeypox updates for Nigeria

From the Nigerian Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) update on the yellow fever outbreak which first began in September 2017: ‘3,902 suspected cases have been reported from all 36 States and the FCT ... 78 positive cases from 14 states (Kwara, Kogi, Kano, Zamfara, Kebbi, Nasarawa, Niger, Katsina, Edo, Ekiti, Rivers, Anambra, FCT, and Benue States) have been confirmed’. Reactive vaccination campaigns have been carried out in 12 states. In other NCDC news, monkeypox cases continue to occur – the 45 confirmed cases (from a total of 114 suspected infections) in 2018 (to Dec 13) were reported from 13 states. In a ProMED post, a moderator describes the outbreak as unusual as ‘Rather than sporadic or rare cases, there have been over 100 cases scattered over a large geographic area this year [2018]’. (Archive Number: 20181231.6237302) Read more  

Affected Regions


Affected Countries